Oliver + S

before step "attach skirt to yoke" shall I sew down the center-back edges?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • LINK
    Lori @Lori

Hello, all.

Since my posting asking about staystitching, I’ve been going from strength to strength and having a whale of a time! I have to say, as a newbie, I am -totally- and -utterly- amazed that after following a series of instructions (and taking time to really push my spatial thinking, not my strong point), I have somehow ended up with a cute, little LINED yoke (with its ugly side seam bits all hidden away, how cool is that?!) and a skirt with two flappy thingies which appear (to my quilter eyes) so very ‘fashiony’! Who knew I could sew 3-D!? (Obviously, Liesel thought I had it in me 🙂

So, so far so good. I’m now just about to attach the yoke to the skirt.

As I’ve been working, I think ahead and try to get an idea of just HOW things might happen next and this is what has generated a question at this point.

Once I proceed with the ‘stitch in the ditch’ step, used to hide the seam which I created to attach the outermost layer of the yoke to the skirt, I will have ‘made inaccessible’ (or to say it other ways, ‘sealed down’, ‘hidden away’) the top edge of the center-back (interfaced) edges of the skirt–those parallel-to-the-legs edges that will eventually get the buttons and buttonholes.

QUESTION:

Before making my last seam on the yoke part of this project, should I first run a seam down the two parallel-to-the-legs, soon-to-get-buttons-and-buttonholes edges so as to ‘hide away’ the interfacing that these edges have? Or perhaps the process of adding the buttons and buttonholes does this? It just looks a bit ‘untidy’ or ‘unfinished’ to me (and of course, this is just what it is at this point), being able to flip it open and see the interfacing. Did I miss a step somewhere maybe?

Also, on the topic of buttonholes: