Oliver + S

Assembling the yoke – stitching the un-stitched underarm, step 8

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • LINK
    rrich @rrich

I cannot figure out what Step 8 in ‘Assemble the Yoke’ is asking me to do, in particular the bit about ‘fold the seam allowance at the armhole seams…’ Uh? Do I then sew my seam over this folded part? I have searched high and low on this forum and the net for some guidance. If someone could help me out, I would really appreciate it. (I am confused and wondering am I the only person out there who doesn’t understand this step? I am a beginner who I thought was starting to improve, but maybe not!)

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Gosh, I haven’t made one of these in ages. I’ll take a peek, though I warn you in advance that it’s nearly 2am where I am so my reply may be less than helpful!

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Ok, this is one of those things that’s easy to sew and hard to describe with words. If it still hasn’t clicked by tomorrow, post again and I’ll try to knock up a photo or video clip.

If you take a peek at the illustration below that step, you’ll see there’s an arrow. It’s pointing up, toward the facing side (the side with the little lines, like sprinkles, used in the illustration to denote ‘facing’). See how there’s a stitching line (dashed line) that’s parallel to it? That’s where you’ll be stitching. And see the shorter stitching line perpendicular to it, in the middle of line you’re about to stitch? That’s the already-stitched together seam from step 4. And the straight (not dashed) line above that is the raw edge of the cut fabric, which is folded up, in the direction of the arrow, toward the facing side. When you stitch it this way, it will help ‘pull’ the whole works a tiny bit toward the inside of the dress, so the facing doesn’t show from the outside.